3 in 1

Posted: November 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

People celebrate holidays for many different reasons. It could be for fun, to celebrate, to get over a rough day, to remember a good one, heck people make up holidays just to get over having to go to work. What it comes down to is people finding a certain day special enough to celebrate it. Everyone has their special days, whether it be birthdays, Christmas, Halloween, or even Easter. For me my family holidays have always been a little different because I am a triplet. So that pretty much means we get holidays x3 especially on July 1, our birthday. Our birthday has looked a little bit different over the years but the one thing that we can not get away from is that we were all born on the same day, so what do you do? Do you celebrate all at once? Do you give everyone their own individual party? My parents actually left it up to us. When we were younger we chose to have two separate parties, one for me, and one for my two sisters (because girls had cooties back then and we men didn’t want any of that.) Each of us even got our own cake.

6372_1135755045469_5209042_nOnce the three of us grew up and my maturity caught up to my sisters we started having joint parties, because girls became a little more interesting than their cooties, and also leading to a singular cake. The past couple years our birthday has devolved into a family dinner and hanging out with friends, but in my eyes nothing really beats that. I still remember one of my favorite birthdays parties. My mom had taken me and my sisters out to lunch to celebrate, we went to California Pizza Kitchen. We had a party planned for a little later in the day so the three of us were excited, but we had no idea what awaited us back home. As we pulled into the back driveway something seemed a little off. I ended up being the one to open the gate, and get drenched with water. “SURPRISE!!!” It was a big group of all of our friends aptly equipped with water guns, water balloons and a hose.  Our parents had gotten us with a surprise party, and we didn’t even expect it. We thanked them by given them big wet hugs so that they could join in in the fun.

Leave a comment